Faculty Directory

Faculty Type Search

Xudong Wang
Professor, JI
Office 561
Tel +86-021-34206765 Ext. 5611
Email wxudong@sjtu.edu.cn
Webpage http://wanglab.sjtu.edu.cn


Ph.D. Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology (2003)
Ph.D. Automatic Control, Shanghai Jiao Tong University (1997)
B.S. Power Engineering, Shanghai Jiao Tong University (1992)

Research Areas

  • Next Generation Wireless Networks
  • Smart Connected Systems
  • Machine Learning and Big Data

Teaching Interests

  • Computer Networks, Digital Communications, Wireless Networks, Wireless Communications, Digital Signal Processing, Random Process, Signals and Systems, Analog and Digital Circuits, Smart Grid and Power Systems

Professional activities

  • Editor
    • IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology
    • Ad Hoc Networks Journal (Elsevier)
    • ACM/Springer Wireless Networks
    • IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing
  • Guest Editors
    • Special Issue on Wireless Mesh Networking in IEEE Wireless Communications Magazine
    • Special Issue on Wireless Mesh Networks in Ad Hoc Networks Journal
    • Special Issue on Advances of Wireless Mesh Networks in ACM/Springer Mobile Networks and Applications
  • Member, IEEE Smart Grid Communications Ad Hoc Committee
  • Steering Committee Member, Wireless Internet Conferences
  • General Co-Chair and Steering Committee Member, Wireless Internet Conference 2008
  • General Co-Chair, MeshTech 2008
  • Technical Program Committee Chair, Wireless Internet Conference 2007
  • Demo Co-Chair, the Seventh ACM International Symposium on Mobile Ad Hoc Networking and Computing (ACM MOBIHOC 2006)


  • John Wu and Jane Sun Chair Professorship Award
  • IEEE Fellow (Communications Society)
  • Oriental Scholar – Distinguished Professor in Universities of Shanghai, 2010
  • Pujiang Talented Scholar, Shanghai Municipal Government, 2010
  • New Century Outstanding Scholar, Ministry of Education, China, 2009
  • Who’s Who in America, 2007 and 2010
  • Shanghai Science and Technology Progress Award, Second Prize, 1997


  • IEEE Fellow
  • Voting Member, IEEE 802.11 and IEEE 802.15 standards committees