Graduate Seminar Series | Redesign batteries to the market

Date: 2020/09/25 - 2020/09/25

Academic Seminar: Redesign batteries to the market

Speaker: Dr. Shouhang Bo, Associate Professor, University of Michigan-Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute

Time: 10:00 – 11:30, September 25, 2020 (Beijing Time)

Location: CIMC Auditorium (Room 300), JI Long Bin Building

Zoom (Meeting ID: 67867585307 Password: 4394)


Batteries are ubiquitous in present-day technological applications, ranging from portable devices, electric vehicles to grid-scale energy storage. These applications play a crucial role to reduce human’s carbon footprint, enabling a sustainable energy future. They, however, at the same time, place more stringent requirements on today’s battery technologies (e.g., reduced cost, enhanced safety and improved energy density), calling for next-generation batteries. Then, what are the limitations of state-of-the-art lithium ion batteries? In this talk, we discuss the root causes of high cost and safety hazards in lithium ion batteries. We show that battery research is highly interdisciplinary in nature. Finally, we discuss the opportunities and challenges of solid-state batteries as a next-generation battery technology.


Dr. Shouhang Bo is currently an Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan-Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute. Before joining the Joint Institute in 2017, Dr. Bo obtained his B. S. and Ph. D. degree in Chemistry from Fudan University (2009) and Stony Brook University (2014), respectively. He was a Postdoctoral Associate at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory from 2014 to 2017. His research interests include solid-state electrolytes, interfaces and imaging of solid-state batteries. In recognition of his scientific contribution to solid-state batteries, Prof. Bo was selected into the Finalists in Energy for the 2017 World Technology Award, and received the Next-Generation Battery Technology Award in 2020.