科研实验室

智能材料与结构实验室(S-实验室)

导师:

描述:

S-实验室的研究方向是具有可编程机械特性的智能材料和结构,其可控的机械特性是由微型内部结构的变形来实现的(晶胞单元的结构在毫米级,常称作介观结构)。本实验室致力于材料的设计,同时理解微结构的几何、拓扑特性与宏观机械性能之间的关系。

我们所设计的可变形机械超材料的微结构可以通过外界刺激(如热力、电磁、气压)进行控制。变形的微结构可以通过打破对称性来产生多种各向异性的机械特性,例如体积模量,剪切模量,泊松比,热膨胀系数,带隙,弹性波导等。

我们通常使用3D/4D打印等先进加工方法来制造由多种材料组成的复合介观结构,以控制材料属性随时间变化的函数。

本实验室使用分析建模,数值模拟,实验验证相结合的研究方法,涉及的领域包括:固体力学结构动力学,结合软体机器人的可编程材料制造方法,有限元分析仿真和实验数据测量分析等。

在基础研究以外,我们也追求这些成果在“非充气轮胎”上的应用,实验室的主要研究者正是该领域的领军人物之一。

智能材料与结构实验室(S-实验室)

Research Labs

Laboratory of Smart Solids and Structures (S-Lab)

Director:

Description:

S-Lab develops intelligent solids and structures with programmable mechanical properties by transforming micro-architecture (often called “mesostructures” at ~mm cell size). The lab focuses on the design of materials while understanding the correlation of geometry and topology of micro-architecture with macroscopic properties.

We design reconfigurable mechanical metamaterials whose micro-architecture can be programmed with external stimuli – i) thermo-mechanical, ii) electro-magnetic, and iii) pneumatic controls.  The controlled micro-architecture can generate anisotropic properties with breaking symmetry – bulk modulus, shear modulus, Poisson’s ratio, thermal expansion, bandgaps, elastic wave guidance, etc.

We often use advanced manufacturing methods – 3D/4D printing to fabricate mesostructures with multi-materials, programming the material’s function with time.

S-Lab uses an integrated approach – i) analytical modeling, ii) numerical simulations, and iii) experimental validation. We use solid mechanics, structural dynamics, fabrication of programmable devices using soft robotics techniques, finite element (FE) based simulations, and experimental measurements.

While working on the fundamental research, we pursue applied research on “nonpneumatic tires,” where the PI has pioneered the development.

Laboratory of Smart Solids and Structures (S-Lab)