Academic Program Group

The Academic Program Group (APG) is a working group dedicated to assisting the Dean in decisions regarding UM-SJTU Joint Institute’s academic affairs including undergraduate and graduate programs, cooperative programs between the UM-SJTU Joint Institute and UM, faculty hiring, tenure and promotion policies and casebook evaluations, governance procedures, expansion of the UM-SJTU Joint Institute’s international programs etc.

 Appointed by the Partnership Board, the APG members, include UM and SJTU personnel as follows:

UM Representatives:

Valeria Bertacco

Vice Provost for Engaged Learning & Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Joanna Millunchick

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education & Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Materials Science & Engineering, College of Engineering

Greg Hulbert

Faculty Advisor, International Programs in Engineering, CoE & Professor of Mechanical Engineering

James Penner-Hahn

Associate Dean for Budget and Planning, LSA & Professor of Chemistry and Biophysics

Michaela Zint

Arthur F Thurnau Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School for Environment and Sustainability, & Professor of Education, School of Education

JI Representatives:

Ming Yang

Acting Dean

Jun Ni

Honorary Dean

Chien-Pin Chen

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

David Hung

Associate Dean for Graduate Education

Gang Zheng

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education